Faculty of Science and Agriculture

The Faculty offers fourteen (14) DHET-accredited undergraduate programmes, seven (7) of which are in the SAES and the remaining seven are shared among the three (3) other Schools.
These programmes cover a wide range of disciplines, including agricultural sciences, environmental sciences, and mathematical sciences, as well as computer science, biological sciences, microbiology, botany, and zoology, and are facilitated by suitably qualified academics.

All of our undergraduate lectures are currently delivered multimodally and remotely. All of our undergraduate programmes lead to postgraduate programmes that are supervised by a group of exceptionally motivated senior academics. There are eighteen (18) National Research Foundation-rated scientists on the Faculty. The Faculty has three (3) Research Chairs.
The Faculty has a few other strategic units which bolster our provision of quality academic offerings, namely:

  • Limpopo Agro-food Technology Station, which is also an arm of service learning, especially support and training of small, and medium enterprises (SMEs)
  • Modern and sophisticated state-of-the-art laboratories supplement theoretical learning in agricultural and natural sciences. The latest software supports computer science and mathematical training;
  • The Experimental Farm for research and experiential training of students
  • The Centre for Rural Community Empowerment (CRCE) which is one of our arms of service learning
  • The Science Education Centre (housing the Science Science), which is mainly responsible for the popularisation of science through science fairs, learner and educator support in secondary school mathematics, life sciences and physical sciences
  • Larry Leach Herbarium, which is the biggest in the Limpopo Province and is responsible for the collection and preservation of distinct plant species

The Faculty is also home to outstanding female academics in disciplines such as Chemistry, Botany, Statistics, Physics, Plant Production, Microbiology, Water Science and Zoology.

Executive Dean
Prof H.J Siweya
Faculty General Rules


Registration Forms

Motivation for extended of registration
Application for M and D Renewal of Registration
Request for M and D Registration Extension
CPASA for Masters & Doctoral
Masters and Doctoral Progress Evaluation Report form (for Supervisors)
Masters and Doctoral Progress Evaluation Report form (For Students)
Application for admission for first entering Honours, Masters or Doctoral degrees
Exclusion Appeal Form
Recognition of subject / module Form
Change of Qualification Form

Faculty Contacts

Executive Dean
Prof Hlengani Siweya
+27 (0) 15 268 2142 / Fax: + 27 15 268 2893
Email: ExDFSA@ul.ac.za

Faculty Office

Faculty Assistant Registrar
Ms MP Molefe
+27 (0) 15 268 3282/2875
Email: ARFSA@ul.ac.za

Executive Secretary
Mirriam Letsoalo
+27 (0) 15 268 2142
Email: mirriam.letsoalo@ul.ac.za
Faculty Postgraduate Office

Assistant Registrar
Prof P Masoko
+27 (0) 15 268 3249/4807
Email: FPOFSA@ul.ac.za

University of Limpopo (Turfloop Campus)
Private bag X1106
Sovenga, 0727
South Africa
Ground Floor, Physics and Chemistry Lab