Department Of Nursing Sciences


2021 Calendar

Core Values & Services

Admission Requirement

Department of Nursing Sciences



Teaching and Learning Methodology

Career Opportunities

Contact Details

Academic Staff

Support Staff

Professor Magdeline Thopola: Head of the Department of Nursing Sciences

Welcome to the Department of Nursing Science at the University of Limpopo. Department of Nursing Science is one of the departments in the School of Health Care Sciences. The department consists of highly qualified staff members that produce independent qualified professional nurses, midwives, community and psychiatric nurses, who are competent and skillful.

Studying a four years Bachelor of Nursing degree will equip you to be a Professional nurse and midwifery practitioner that will execute quality care, which will improve the health status of the community and reduce high morbidity and mortality rates. Candidates who complete the program will register with the South African Nursing Council (SANC) as a Professional Nurse and Midwife. You will automatically be placed in the hospitals and clinics upon completion of your bachelor degree for community service internship.

Qualified candidates are employable nationally and internationally in the following areas

  • Hospitals
  • Clinics
  • Occupational industries such as mines, schools etc.
  • Nursing schools

The department offers an undergraduate degree of Bachelor of Nursing Science (BNURS) NQF level 8 and Postgraduate Diploma in Primary Health Care (PDPHC) NQF level 8, Master degree in Nursing Science (MNURS) NQF level 9 and PhD in Nursing Science (NQF level 10). BNURS, PDPHC and MNURS programmes are recognised by the South African Nursing Council for registration and, are registered with the South African Qualification Authority (SAQA).

If you are interested in pursuing nursing as a career, verify the admission criteria to assist you concerning the application process.