School Of Social Sciences


About the School

Admission Requirements


Administration Support Services


Academic Staff

Welcome Message from the Director: Prof Sello Sithole

Welcome to the website of the School of Social Sciences (SSS). The SSS is the smallest of the three Schools in the Faculty of Humanities at the University of Limpopo.The School comprises five departments, namely, Criminology and Criminal Justice, Cultural and Political Studies, Psychology, Social Work as well as Sociology and Anthropology. The SSS aspires to be an innovative premier school for advancement of social and human development guided by the Afrocentric philosophy. In order to realise this vision, the School pursues its mission to develop well -rounded, well-grounded and critical graduates for our communities through: academic excellence in teaching and learning; cutting edge research that influences postgraduate output; improved community and stakeholder engagement as well as good corporate governance.

The SSS has a long and distinguished record and a purpose that is at the very heart of the University's mission. The School’s mission draws on our rich history from the University of the North to the current and future aspirations of the University of Limpopo, whose motto is Finding solutions for Africa.

The School offers high-quality education at undergraduate and postgraduate levels in a variety of fields, and has an impressive research profile. Our graduates are equipped with the skills of critical thinking, effective communication and social responsiveness and they are quite comfortable in contexts of social diversity. Our graduates pursue envied careers in the fields of Psychology, Social Work, Community Development, Cultural and Knowledge Management, Politics and Teaching as well as in consultancy.

At undergraduate level, the School offers the Bachelor of Arts degree (BA). The Bachelor of Arts degree offers four optional streams, namely:

  • Criminology and Psychology
  • Cultural Studies
  • Political Studies
  • Sociology and Anthropology

The School also offers two professional degrees at undergraduate level, namely: Bachelor of Psychology and Bachelor of Social Work. The third professional degree, Master’s in Clinical Psychology, is offered at postgraduate level.  There is also an exciting range of postgraduate programmes at Honours, Masters and Doctoral levels.

Students and staff engage in discipline-specific as well as interdisciplinary research. There is a substantial research collection which is reflected in the broad range of peer reviewed publications by staff and students in the SSS. There are rich contexts for field-work (work integrated learning) in the neighbouring communities as part of research and community engagement. The School takes pride in serving the people of the Limpopo Province and the world through the urge to discover, create and apply knowledge. Such knowledge is disseminated through teaching, publication, and community engagement. The School firmly holds the notion that the breadth and depth of exposure of its offerings prepare students for success in a world in which the one constant is change.

We invite you to enrol for your studies in one of the most dynamic Schools in South Africa.